Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My holdfast won't hold

My holdfast won't hold

I just drilled the front row dog holes for my bench. I went to test them and put a Gramercy holdfast in and gave it a really good whack with my mallet and the piece of wood that was being held slipped pretty easily. All holes are drilled with a 3/4" spiral upcut and are .75" based on my calipers. Any tricks to getting these to hold?

http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/M...tegory_Code=TL

Other than that, the bench is really coming along. Next on the list is to cut the vise dog holes and the back row. Then its time for a finish sanding/planing and some finish. For the finish I was going to use BLO and mineral spirits. I'm not sure if I want a little poly in the brew as well. I did that for the base and it feels pretty good.

I used thinned BLO as you describe. The poly will dry hard and be prone to cracking, chipping or scratching as I understand but I have no direct experience. The BLO has worked well for me. I'm also no help on the hold down as I don't have any. I must just be posting to hear myself type ;-)
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

I found that after lightly sanding the shafts of the holdfasts with 120 grit they held well. By "lightly", I mean that I probably spent 10 seconds on each one. Hope this helps
    ---------------------------
    Chip Hamblin
    Rochester, NY / Dwight, ON
    FWW Registered Voter

Mike, How thick is your top?

I had some trouble on really thick tops in the past. Over 4" seems to take quite a beating to get it to seat.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Beam View Post
    Mike, How thick is your top?

I had some trouble on really thick tops in the past. Over 4" seems to take quite a beating to get it to seat.