Nova lathe question

Clark O'Neill

i'm new to woodturning and started with a grizzly mini lathe to make sure i want to pursue this new aspect of woodworking. it's a difficult learning curve but now i need to upgrade my lathe and am cramped on shop space.

the nova 1624-44 got good reviews at FWW and the online videos at woodcraft are great. but i can't find the footprint specs anywhere. looking at the photo and knowing the 24" between centers dim. i'm guessing about 51" long.

anyone owning this lathe care to comment about your experience with it? and measure the length for me? delivered price from woodcraft right now is $975.

Hi Clark, glad to see you posted this out here, as you know, I have the DVR 3000, and I like it very much, I've not seen the 1624 in the flesh, but it is getting good reviews, a lot of lathe for $975, IMHO.

IIRC Tony Falotico has that lathe, as well as Richard Leshner, and Bruce Shiverdecker, maybe one of these gents will chime in! :wave: :D

Cheers!

Clark, the Nova 1624-44 is 40 1/2" long not including the motor. The base is 7 1/2" deep and the overall depth where the pulleys are housed is about 14".

I am guessing the motor adds about another 15" to the overall length.

You can go to the Teknatool website and download the owner's manual in PDF format.

http://www.teknatool.com/

I have the Nova 3000 which is the predecessor to the 1624-44. They are essentially the same lathe but the 1624-44 has reversing capability. I love my lathe.

Last edited:
Hi Clark, I have the 1644-24 and have been very happy with it. The bed without the outboard unit is about 40 1/2" long, overall it's about 51" from the outside end of the motor to the end of the bed.

I got mine slightly used (4 months old) for a steal. The gentleman I bought it from just had to have the DVR and went out and got one. He kept the stand so I built one.