Thread: Sometimes I amaze myself

Sometimes I amaze myself

I have been re-working a Wood body for a 1912 Model T Towncar (all wood construction) Some mistakes were made in the original construction and I am contracted to fix the errors. One problem was to remove one of the ribs (wrong location) set in a dado and screwed in place, before the curved plywood skin was glued on.. How to get it out intact w/o much damage to the skin.... Lucky the fit was bad enough to locate where the screw was located. Marked where I thought it would be...

Took a piece of Plywood and drilled a 5/8" hole as a guide and clamped over the location...

Bored a hole with a Forstner bit till the tip touched the screw head...

Used a scratch Awl to dig out the remaining wood to expose the screwhead...

Backed out the screw and pounded the rib through the dado (rebate) ....

Inserted a 5/8" bung I cut with a plug cutter, with a little glue and some sanding, the job is A-OK...

ABQ NM
    Ain't it nice when a plan comes together?
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

RETIRED(!) in Austintown, Ohio
    Pretty neat! Can we see some more pics of the body?

What woods are you using? I seem to recall tha many of the original bodies of that era were mainly of ash and birch, and that some of the later 'woodies' were ash and mahogany.

I know that many folks aren't aware that many of the teens/twenties/thirties car bodies were actually metal skins over wooden framework. Some (Packard, etc.) had some very nice woodwork in their under-framing, and others were were pretty crude.

As a kid, I used to hang around a shop where they did a fair amout of repair/restoration of older stuff - like Essex, Hudsons, Packards, etc. Back then I found it amazint that some cars were actually made of wood! Of course, British Morgans still are, aren't they?
    Jim D.