shop question for the fire fighters!

larry merlau

what is if any standards for the placement and quantity or size of fire extinguishers? we all know wood burns and motors to.. but i dont recall much said about the prevention of a castophy by having or using fire extinguishers at hand for those emergency times.. so if any of you folk have some firemen or firewoman expeiernce and could help the rest of us out thanks.

Fire Extinguishers

Larry,

I work as a Fire Marshal in the Nations Capitol so I guess I qualify to speak on this subject. The average hobby woodworker has about 400 to 600 sq.ft. of shop space, that being said with the most likely culprit to start a fire would be electrical in nature (woodworking machinery) or Class C (electrical fires) the most likely found fuel sources would be wood in different forms of mass i.e. dimesional, shavings and saw dust or Class A (wood,paper) and finally stains, paints and solvents or Class B (flammable liquids). So obviously the choice would be a Dry Chemical Extinguisher (ABC) type, this will extinguish all three classes of those fires mentioned and the size should at least be a 10 lbs ABC extinguisher this has the capability to extinguish a fire that is 100 sq.ft. in size (10 X 10). If you have a larger space you might add another or up size to a twenty pounder. Note: the little 2 to 5 pounders that you see in most kitchens are okay for small range top fires but I elieve you should have at least 1 10 lbs. ABC Dry Chem. Extinguisher in your shop and Remeber P.A.S.S. Pull Pin, Aim Nozzel at base of fire, Squeeze handle, Sweep back and forth at base of fire and always, I Repeat always even if you think the fire is out or not dial 911, you never know if the fire could grow larger or get behind a wall and not really be out. Also make sure you have them located where you can get at them, dont hide them behind yuor wood stash or some 500 lbs + wood working machine. Oh, by the way I know alot of people say cleanliness is a si