what sealer/lacquer for BLO bowl finish

Nathan Hawkes

I'm a newbie, and I keep reading different "best" ways to finish a bowl. I settled on boiled linseed oil because I couldn't get antique oil in my town, but ordered some, & needed a substitute for temp. use. Anyway, the linseed oil doesn't dry very hard, so I need something to put on as a protection. The bowls are definitely going to be practical use-fruit/salad, whatever. Should I use a wipe-on poly, spraycan lacquer (I don't have an air sprayer yet) or a lacquer/wax combo? I'd appreciate any suggestions, and explanations of why some are better than others. I'm a little hard headed. I have to know how and why everything works. Thanks.

Nathan,
It takes a few days for the BLO to dry, depending on what wood you are using and sometimes the temperature... I use three or four coats of BLO on some of my bowls and let them sit a week after the last coat, then buff with a dry buffer or sometimes with a carnuba wax (on some strictly decorative bowls, I've used Minwax furniture polish as well).. you don't need anything over the oil if it sits long enough to cure.. that becomes a personal preference.
Others may weigh in with different ideas, this is only my opinion.

There are a lot of guys who use Lacquer and or WB finishes with a pre finish of BLO. But Chemically speaking, it won't work. Dissimilar materials will not bond correctly. BLO take Years to truely cure and must breathe solvent finishes take days to cure and seal the BLO vapors under it seal. It does not allow a true bond to the surface below. There are those who say "Yeah But I have done this or that" But if you go back to the basics and true Learned WWers will tell you that you can't mix that kind of finishes.

If you start with an oil based finish then you finish with an oil based finish. BLO is oil based.