Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to prep jointer surface?

How to prep jointer surface?

Hi everyone, I've had my 6 inch jointer for about 1.5 years and it is time for some upkeep. It feels very clean but it has become increasingly difficult to slide the wood across the intake and outtake surfaces. I used to be able to easily glide the pieces across the tool but now I have to apply a lot of pressure to keep it moving. Like it's made of molasses.

I'm a maintenance rookie. Does it need a waxing or something?

Thanks for any insight!
    -dan

Wax it up! Johnson's Paste Wax works wonders!

Thanks for confirming my suspicions and I apologize for such a newbie question.

Any special tips for applying the wax?

Thanks,
    -dan

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Birnbaum View Post

Thanks,
    -dan
    ahhhh Grasshopper wax on , wax off, Buff rots
    Daily Thought: SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES..... NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS...............

Make darn sure the sharp blades are turned so you can't slice your fingers while putting the wax on, turn them, and then clamp the belt on the pulley to make sure they do not move!

Cheers!
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

Thanks,
    -dan
    No apologies necessary for newbie questions. We've all had 'em at one point or another.

I've found if the table is gunked up, I like to apply the wax with 0000 steel wool. It seems to help loosen the crud. I also sometimes don't buff the surface afterwards, if I want to leave a thicker wax coating. (Like on my lathe beds before and after turning wet wood.) You can try it both ways and see which you like better. If you get it on thicker than you want, it comes off real easily with mineral spirits.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson