Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: looking to buy my first hand plane...

looking to buy my first hand plane...

i know pretty much zero about the different style of planes but would like to get started getting to know them. first step would be to actually get one i suspect! so do you guys have any suggestions on what i should buy first? keep in mind im on a budget so it doesnt have to be a $100 lie neilson or whatever, just something decent to get me started as i am a beginner in most senses of the word

Alan DuBoff is offline Former Member (by the member's request)
    Last edited by Alan DuBoff; 02-27-2008 at 09:18 AM.

I'd probably recommend finding an older Stanley #5 as a good all around plane. If you can, find someone that can help you get it tuned up so you know how a hand plane is supposed to work. If you don't already have one, get a block plane too. They are a lot of fun when they are set up correctly!

would like home depot or lowes have anything comparable to the stanley planes? not much selection for flea markets around here

i need something that i can plane edges with and something to smooth like a table top if that helps at all

For a 'first' plane, I'd suggest a block plane. You can find a Stanley 60, or a 65, or their Sargent or Millers Falls equivalents for around $50 or so on Ebay, or maybe you'll get lucky at a local flea market.

Clean it up and sharpen the blade, and you'll be amazed at what you can do with it.

If you're a bit more flush, the Lee Valley low angle block plane Is a great one, too, but it's about $150.00.
    Jim D.
    Adapt, Improvise, Overcome!

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Gager View Post
    would like home depot or lowes have anything comparable to the stanley planes?
    NO! NOT CLOSE!!
    Don't waste you money there!!

I second Jim, a block plane is the most used and a good one to learn to sharpen too. #4 or a #5 is a great size too, but not as useful as a block plane.