Work, woodworking projects, taxes?

This is kind of a complicated question, and unique to me in some ways as I am a Machinist by trade, do woodworking as a hobby, and often make projects that help me stay organized at work.

Now we all know that any personal tools you purchase so you can do your chosen craft better,and is not covered by a work purchase program, can be deducted off your taxes come April 14th. So my question is, since I often build wooden toolboxes, and other wooden items like sand paper holders, pigeon holes and cabinets, can I deduct these off my income taxes as well? Its really no different then going out and buying say a Snap On Toolbox for $500 bucks or something?

Now assuming I can do this, what is deducted...just the cost of the materials such as wood and hardware, or can I deduct the what the toolbox is worth as if I was to sell it to some guy in the newspaper or something? Its kind of gray because what I spent to build it, might be actually quite low compared to its worth, but my time has got to be worth something?

Just curious?

Talk to a tax professional. All you can get here are opinions. ;) Shoot, even when you call the IRS, all you get is an opinion, and they are not bound by their own opinions. :eek:

A tax professional is one who can defend their position in a tax court.

I rather doubt your labor is deductible though. An item made for charity might be a parallel. There you can only deduct materials.

I agree, a tax accountant would be the one to ask about that.

I play it safe with the IRS. I made and donated several pieces of altar furniture to my Church last year. While I might have been able to deduct the market value for the items, I deducted only the cost of materials, and even then did not include stuff like glue and sandpaper and such. BTW, beginning with last year's returns you need to have receipts for all such donations.