Thread: Combining Lacewood With.....what?

Combining Lacewood With.....what?

I know this is a very subjective question, but I bring it to you folks anyway. I'm hoping to start a project where the primary material will be lacewood. I've never used it before, so I'm looking for suggestions on what might be a nice looking secondary wood, something that complements the color and figure of the lacewood.

Thanks very much!!

- Keith
    "Listen, here's the thing. If you can't spot the sucker in the first half hour at the table, then you ARE the sucker. "

Keith, if you're looking for an accent type, I'm thinking a contrasting wood like Ebony, or Wenge would look good. Otherwise

Keith,

About a year ago I built a sofa table (one that sits behind the sofa) with Leopardwood field and legs with Birdseye maple for stretchers and banding on the top. I will look for the pictures. It turned out very elegant and well received by my wife.

I made a quilt rack using lacewood and figured maple. I thought this was a nice contrast but it is just a mater of preference and opinion. Here is a photo for reference.

I don't know if it is common for lacewood to to be riddled with small cracks running along the grain but mine sure did. I filled and stabilized these cracks with ca glue and sawdust.

Here's a box I made with lacewood sides and a canary wood top:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lacewood Canary 1 800.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	104.0 KB 
ID:	18044 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lacewood Canary 2 800.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	106.1 KB 
ID:	18045 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lacewood Canary 3 800.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	106.5 KB 
ID:	18046

The pics don't show it real well, but the brown in the canary wood matched the browns in the lacewood.

Billy's suggestion of a solid black wood sounds like it'd look nice.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan