Thread: Rose Bowl

Tyler, Texas

Rose Bowl

This is my first attempt at carving. The bowl is from a glued-up blank of 4/4 soft Maple. Since the wood was sorta plain, I decided to stain it...bad decision. It was all blotchy and ugly...even with shellac sealcoat applied first.

So, I then decided to paint it with what I had on hand. After the paint dried I put a coat of lacquer over everything to seal it in.

The bowl is 8" x 5".

Harvey, Michigan
    Interesting piece Cody! Form of the box looks really nice as does your carving of a rose. A suggestion - if I may - would be to add a little of your stain on top of the rose and then wipe it off. It would leave a little dark color in the recesses - sort of a antique look - and would bring out the detail in your rose.

I have to say this is pretty nice work for your first carving! Keep it up!

Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
    Very nice carving, Cody, especially for the 1st effort. If it was blotchy and ugly at first I'll have to take your word for it; it looks great now. Nicely done!

ABQ NM
    Cody, your first attempt at carving is better than what I would have done. The form on the bowl and lid also looks very nice. I like Steve's suggestion about "antiquing" the rose a bit, but overall, I think you did a great job, especially for a first.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

If I remember my first attempt to carving, it wasn't half as good as that! So you've skipped quite a lot of time and learning curve in on go

The lid and the rose are a single piece of wood or you carved the rose apart and then attached it to the lid??
    Best regards,

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________
    web site:
    I also dream of a shop with north light where my hands can be busy, my soul rest and my mind wander...