Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anybody got McAfee SiteAdvisor installed?

  1. #1

    Anybody got McAfee SiteAdvisor installed?

    I have just had a conversation with a visitor to my site who claims that McAfee SiteAdvisor plus gave her a warning about my site but, fairly typically, could give me no further guidance of what the warning claimed was wrong. Is anybody running this prog. and if so would you be willing to tell me what the thing is saying about this page http://www.adirondack.co.uk/info_form.htm or about the home page at http://www.adirondack.co.uk/

    Much appreciated in anticipation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ozarks
    Posts
    4,993
    ian, no mcafee here......but kaspersky says you`re good to go.
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    765
    Ian, I'm running it. I'll give the site a look when I get home and let you know what it says.
    Billy B.

    "It has been said that politics is the second oldest profession. I have learned that it bears a striking resemblance to the first." - Ronald Reagan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Catalunya
    Posts
    4,632
    Ian.

    I'm running it, visited both places and no warnings at all.
    Hope this helps
    Best regards,
    Toni

    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________
    web site:http://www.toniciuraneta.com
    I also dream of a shop with north light where my hands can be busy, my soul rest and my mind wander...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
    Posts
    185
    Hi Ian,

    First off, yes McAfee SiteAdvisor IS showing a caution for your site.

    Those with SiteAdvisor installed should go to Google and type in Adirondack uk. Ian's site will appear first and DOES show the Use Caution with an Exclamation.

    As soon as I reread Vaughan's image upload instructions I can post an image of the Google listing with the SiteAdvisor warning.
    Regards,
    Bill Antonacchio

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
    Posts
    185
    Here is the cropped Google listing I mentioned in previous posting.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails adironUK.jpg  
    Regards,
    Bill Antonacchio

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Inside the Beltway
    Posts
    2,666
    Ian,

    Not running that software, but...

    You're asking for personal data. You have a privacy statement on the page itself, and a privacy policy. I looked at the code underneath your page, and couldn't see anything really bad (frontpage does some wierd stuff, but it's just wierd, not truly evil...

    My first thought was that privacy practices here are more lax than the E.U.'s, and what would fly here would not fly there. I was at a lunch last week where these folks https://www.privacyassociation.org/ gave your data commissioner http://www.ico.gov.uk/ an award. But I'm not sure the software is smart enough to know your privacy laws are different.

    Maybe site advisor doesn't like the way frontpage does data forms?

    Just a guess,

    Thanks,

    Bill

  8. #8
    I did a bit more digging. Apparently where they find a form with an email field on it they fill it with an email address which is specific to that form and then monitor the email address for spam. They claim that they did this to my site in Nov 2007 and have received 1 spam mail to that address. I have no idea what the address was and can guarantee that I did not send it and that I did not pass the address on to anybody else. I will remove the email field from the form because to be honest I only ever use it if there is a query with the address or to let Americans know that even though I build the best adirondack chairs on the planet there is no point in me sending them a catalogue because the shipping cost would be $500 per chair.

    Just seems a shame that the paranoia industry serves once again to reduce functionality and utility in favour of fear - ho hum!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    765
    Here's what I get form both sites. These are only cautions. I've seen sights where this message is red and is a warning. It all has to do with the spam factor involved with emails after entering you email address on a given site.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails test.jpg   test2.jpg  
    Billy B.

    "It has been said that politics is the second oldest profession. I have learned that it bears a striking resemblance to the first." - Ronald Reagan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    186
    I get no Mcafee warning when visiting any page on your site.

    I agree that your site shows up with a caution flag as listed in Google's search engine with Mcafee in active mode.

    Here is your site report,

    http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/adi...3&locale=en-US
    adirondack.co.uk


    "Snip"
    adirondack.co.uk
    After entering our e-mail address on this site, we received less than 1 e-mail per month. They were somewhat spammy.
    Last edited by Dave Trask; 04-03-2008 at 02:22 AM.
    Donít have the best tools, don't use the best woods and projects donít always turnout perfeck.
    I just feel the need to work with wood!

Similar Threads

  1. Doors are installed
    By Dave Hawksford in forum Finishing School
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 06:02 PM
  2. My partially installed DC
    By Ken Fitzgerald in forum New Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 05:09 PM
  3. McAfee Security Suite?
    By Bruce Page in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-24-2007, 05:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •