How long does it take to hollow out a small hollow form?

Mike Hirsch

I have been reading these forums for a few months now but this is my first postasking about turning. I am new to turning, about 8 months now, a Jet mini. I have made several dozen pens nad gett very good at them, a couple bottle stoppers and 4-5 bowls ( I still need to work on using a bowl gouge).

I have started a small maple hollow form, the wood is dry. It seems like I can spend hours on it and get now where. I tried the Sorby Hollow Master and the Oneway Termite, both very hard to control for a beginner, lots of catches. I resently purchased a Mini Moster and it works much better no catches, but it still seems very slow.

How long does it usually take to hollow out a form. The one that I am working on is about 5x5.

Thanks, Mike

What kind of wood are you turning? It depends with me since I have did several but it might take me 1 to 3 hrs. depending on how hard the wood is. The first one took me a long time because it was dry. Green wood is a lot easier to work with and hollowing is less time consuming. I take my time when hollowing.

Last edited:
Mike,

That is why watching even a master turner do a hollowing demo is like watching grass grow. :) It is a slow process. A 5" form would take me 1-2 hours to hollow. But I'm a slow turner in general.

Do you have the laser rig on your mini-monster? That will save you some measuring time, but you still need to stop often to clear shavings and take small cuts. The rig will reduce the "stress" of a catch, but your form can blow to pieces just the same.

The Ellsworth and Jordan hollow turning DVDs are well worth watching.

BTW, I have the big brother to your system on order!

David

Attachments

• Copy of IMG_0345.JPG
    Copy of IMG_0345.JPG
    44.6 KB · Views: 30