Sharpening a Gouge

Hi Guys,

Im just getting into turning (bowls mostly) and am wondering what the best beginner setup is for sharpening a gouge? I don't want to buy a Tormack Wet Grinder or anything like that, I've already got a 6" high speed dry grinder (3400 rpm) that I'm hopping to put a white wheel on ... will this work? Do I need a slower grinder?

Also, if I am not regrinding the bevel but just sharpening the edge, should I go to the grinder for this? Or should I just hone the edge a bit with a stone?

Thanks for the all help. I'm getting a lot of different answers on this so trying to clarify things.

Your 6" high speed grinder should work. As a matter of fact, Oneway, the maker of Wolverine sharpening jig recommends a high speed grinder. High speed removes steel faster; use light touch. 8" wheel would create less of a hollow ground and would have longer service life. They also cost more, so it somewhat evens out.
Smooth running of the wheels is more important than size or speed of the grinder. You also have to get a wheel dresser to true the wheel and clean the metal that is embedded in the wheel so it won't overheat your tool. Overheat would damage the temper of carbon steel but won't harm HSS.
With turning, the cutting edge is subject to a lot of abrasion. You need to sharpen your tool often. Sharp tool cuts down on sanding.
You can find a lot of sharpening information as well as video from here:
http://www.oneway.ca/multi-media/wolverine_videos.htm

I will chime in here. I agree with Gordon that speed is not a factor although I like slow speed. I had a 6 inch grinder at 3400 rpm. On certain tools I had trouble get the bevel that I wanted. I could never get the grind just right. After listening to the advice of Mike Mahoney and Ernie Conover I broke down and bought the Woodcraft 8" slow speed with the wolverine jig and haven't looked back. That was the best investment I made. Properly sharpened tools are the key to good turning.

Hi Guys,