Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HI new to wood turning

HI new to wood turning

Hey every one I am new to wood turning and have been trying for about 3 weeks. Here are some of the ones that I think are best. I need some tips and suggestions from you pros out there! Don't feel like you are rude, I am from texas and a little redneck thought are welcome. I got started when I bought a lathe at a garage sell, and took it home. Made a bat with it just goofing off. Had a really good time learning. The motor burned up on me the next day so I bought me a brand new lathe and, hang on for the ride,,,,,Here we go!!!! Oh and thanks for the guys showing vids on youtube,,,,thats where I learned the captive ring trick. Everyone was impressed!!!

ABQ NM
    Dang, three weeks into the Vortex and you're already doing captive rings? You're ahead of me, Zack. All three are nice-looking pieces.

Sounds like you got pulled into the Abyss hard like a lot of us. What lathe did you get?

Oh, and welcome to the forum. Good show, starting out with pics and all.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

Well I did go to college for metal working on lathes, but this is so much more fun. Metal don't have diffrent wood grains like wood,,,,, Anyway I bought a Central Machinery lathe from Harbor freight. It is a 12 by 36 with an indexing head. Might not be the best but it will get me started. Thanks for the compliment. I could use lots of them becouse wood is much different than metal. I hope I can stay up to you guys standards!!!

ABQ NM
    If that's the lathe I'm thinking of, there's been some good stuff turned on them. It's not a Robust American Beauty, but it spins wood and provides a place to hold a chisel. That's all you really need.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan