Smaller tree limbs for blanks?

Jim Zimm

I'm just getting into woodturning and been doing my reading. I'll start by saying everyone's so helpful and I've been able to find a lot of answers and tips. In advance - sorry if this has already been asked and answered :doh:

I've read about processing larger trunks and gotten a better handle on that (of course I'm sure there'll be future questions to come!). Now I'm wondering if smaller limbs (3"-6") can be used to produce blanks for projects such as pens, bottle stops, etc? I'm guessing the pith is still an issue and would need to be removed? And if these are usable, any and all suggestions/tips/links on processing would really be appreciated.

Again, this is a great set of forums!

You know I can't speak to processing the limbs, but I have walked over to the wood pile and taken out a piece or two and made handles.

Last edited:
Jim, first Welcome to the Family. :wave:

I know others have processed wood for pens and bottle stops from smaller blanks before, but I haven't. I seem to remember Stu doing this with a recent score of wood. :huh: Good luck and please post some pics of your work. We love pictures here.

Welcome to the Family Jim! :wave:

For smaller stuff, you certainly can use limbs, I've made a lot of pens and or things like Mushrooms from the limbs, but you have to understand, that it is common for limbs to have cracks in them, this is especially true if the limb was growing more horizontal than upright. Also depends how the tree was taken down, it it was just dropped, and lot of damage can be done to the limbs as the tree hits the ground, if the larger limbs were taken off, by a crane, for example, the damage is usually much less.

What the heck if it is free wood, at the very least, you can call it practice :D

Cheers!