Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Time to replace the fence (around the yard)

Time to replace the fence (around the yard)

Not on my saw...

The old wooden fence has seen better days. It sags like an old mare, has a big hole in the gate, and one section blew down last fall and I've been holding it up with a piece of rope for almost 6 months.

We want to replace it with (please sit down) vinyl. Mostly because of privacy issues as we live next door to the Adams family. Wood has to move too much and you must leave space between the boards. And, yes, they do peek through the cracks. Of course I could build my own and use board and batten, or ship lap, but that's one heck of a lot of digging and being out in the sun (and out of the shop). And before anyone says anything about our need for privacy, we only do that AFTER sunset. I'm talking more about when we have guests over, wise guys.

I've gotten a few quotes for vinyl and most have been around $3400 for the 184' of fence with one gate. That's the standard tan stuff. Nothing fancy. What confuses me is that the price for a 6' section at the borg with the posts and cement would cost me nearly as much and I still have to do all the work! Does that seem right?

Do any of you have vinyl fence? Do you like it? Aanything I should watch out for?

For those who don't believe without seeing...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2377.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	105.4 KB 
ID:	20993 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2378.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	106.1 KB 
ID:	20994 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2379.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	103.9 KB 
ID:	20995
    Host of the 2017 Family Woodworking Gathering - Sunken Wood

“We all die. The goal isn't to live forever; the goal is to create something that will.” - Chuck Palahniuk
    www.wrworkshop.com

Rennie,

Does the current fence belong to you? Reason I ask, is the "nice side" is on the Adam's family side...