Ideas for project

I have been doing very basic woodworking for a few years but never had the confidence to get serious. I am ready to take on a project that will allow me to use mortise and tenon joints, spokeshave and plane, ect. I was thinking about a rocking chair after seeing the one that Jerry Palmer made. I assume that a chair like that is not made from plans that you buy. The joinery required for a chair is new to me, so I am hoping I could get some advice on how to begin such a project. I have probably 8000 bd ft of Western Red Cedar and actually that is the only lumber that I have worked with. It is soft and splinters easily. Is this type of wood ok to use for "fine" woodworking projects?

Curtis,
My chair is actually from plans available on the internet from HalTaylor.com. The plans are quite expensive, over $300 if you get the template for routing the holes in the seat for the uprights, but it includes full size paper templates for three different sizes of chairs. It also contains over 100 pages of instructions as well as the opportunity to contact Hal and get additional advice and instructions from him.

Until recently, I would say that a rocking chair like mine was not a project for a beginner, but then I saw a post from a fella elsewhere who had, in fact, made a Hal Taylor chair as his very first woodworking project, and he did it without a lot of the power woodworking tools that are considered "necessary". :D That green smiley is green for my envy of his grit to take on such a project so early in his woodworking hobby.

That being said, the cedars that grow on the North American continent, including the Eastern and Western Red Cedars especially, are not amenable to making the parts of a rocking chair due to their softness.