Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Green wood

Green wood

I am new to woodturning and have read that you should turn green wood then let it dry for 1-3 months and then finish turning it. I was wondering how far do you go turning the first time and is there any way to help prevent cracking on a piece that has been turned over the entire surface and there is no bark left?

Quote Originally Posted by curtis tolbert View Post
    I am new to woodturning and have read that you should turn green wood then let it dry for 1-3 months and then finish turning it. I was wondering how far do you go turning the first time and is there any way to help prevent cracking on a piece that has been turned over the entire surface and there is no bark left?
    For rough turning the general rule of thumb is 1" for every 10" in diameter. I have used this gauge with good results with most wood. I Anchor Seal the end grain, the rim and then wrap in a paper bag and forget about it for about a year. There is no way it would air dry in several months in my shop. Of course you could just turn the green wood to finished thickness

The environment in which the roughed out bowl will be kept has a lot to do with the success. In shops like mine in Eastern VA with no climate control I have a very high success rate. In drier areas and controlled environments it is a little more uncertain as often the relative humidity is lower.

There are many other options including denatured alcohol drying, boiling, covering with shavings, plastic bag drying, microwave drying and I even heard of one guy who uses cardboard boxes. also you could build a kiln.

The best approach is to do a number of searches.
    Barbara