Recent content by Rob Damon

1. R

Another Reason I Don't Wanna Fly Anywhere

My best flight was back in 1990. We were making flights back and forth to Roosevelt Roads Naval station in Puerto Rico for design work due to Hurricane Hugo damage. (Alot of the $80M money the Feds spent on that base had little to do with the HH damage, and more to do with the Military drug...
  2. R

Product Shipping

The best USPS story from 30 years ago: My MIL, living in Virginia, would mail out Xmas gifts to her family living in Austria by the end of August to make sure they would arrive by Christmas time. One year she mailed the gifts and in June of the following year they flew to Austria for a month...
  3. R

PSA - DeWalt recall

Saw this on yahoo: https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2022/DeWALT-Recalls-Nearly-1-4-Million-Miter-Saws-Due-to-Injury-and-Laceration-Hazards
  4. R

The countdown begins.....10, 9, 8.....

Because of the Covid, I have been working from home since March 15, 2020. I already lost track of what day it is, sometime around June of last year. The big plus is the wife is already used to me being home 24/7/356 after the past year. The biggest difference will not having to check office...
  5. R

The countdown begins.....10, 9, 8.....

Finally after decades of working, retirement begins in 10 days! April 30, 2021. I imagine these will be the 10 longest days of my career. First task, take two weeks and do absolutely nothing and then start on the 200 hundreds projects I have been putting off doing for the last decade...
  6. R

I know I said I wouldn't but hey this is for a really good reason

If you think a double .22 is fun, here is a 1911 double.....
  7. R

New Shop Journey

Being in the A/E field for decades, the inspector get paid regardless of if you do it right. What ticks them off if he tells the contractor and shows the contractor something that needs to be fixed and the contractor tells him, "No problem, we will take care of it" and he doesn't, that is what...