Which Witch

Don Baer

Staff member
Here is a hint as to my Halloween CNC Project. I have created a program from the attached JPG that I found on line and will attempt to cut it out on the CNC. I then plan to paint it black on the front side and white on the back side. I then will put white lights on the back side so when I hang it against the side of the house it will create a Halo effect around the silhouette. That's the game plan anyhow.
1603497043809.png

I have no experience but I guess that the wiskars of the cat and the witch hair may turn to be too fragile, depending on what material you use.
Is it going to sheet metal or plastic?

I quickly take you through the step I took to create the program. A jpeg image is not a drawing as such so in order to use it one must create some line as such. In Fusion 360 you can import the drawing direct as a jpeg and use the drawing tools to create an outline which can be tedious. I choose to convert the image to a SVG file and import it that way. There are a number of jpg to SVG converters you can use and they are all free. Here is the image imported into Fusion as an SVG file. It took all of 5 minutes to upload the jpeg, convert it to a .svg file and save it to my computer as witch.svg and import it into Fusion.
1603560811002.png

Now with a drawing I can treat it like any other drawing and edit it in fusion, add any thing I want.
1603561231903.png
Next I need to convert it from 1 2 D image to a 2 1/2 D image using the extrude tool Since I am planning to use 1/2" MDF I will extrude the drawing to a depth of 1/2"
1603561269357.png

Last but Not least I will switch from the CADD to the Cam portion of Fusion by selecting manufacture from the menu and create a setup program where I will tell Fusion what I will use for stock to create the image from. In This case I will basically tell the program that I will use a piece of stock 1 inch larger than the image I want to cut out.
1603561510041.png