Search results

1. Tom Niemi

Exciting night!

Don’t have all the details yet, but we have a brand spanking new great granddaughter 😁. We will go up to the hospital tonight with our 6 year old great grandson (he doesn’t know she was born yet, he is staying with us till they get home sometime Friday, exciting times 🙂 Edit: her name is Lanah...
  2. Tom Niemi

JET JCDC-2 Cyclone Dust Collector

I guess since I've been doing this woodworking stuff for 18 years now, I guess I may as well continue. So I have decided to improve my dust collection system, it has worked well, but I'm ready for a cyclone system. Today I ordered a Jet JCDC-2 Cyclone Dust Collector, 2 Micron Filter' 938 CFM, 2...
  3. Tom Niemi

Gibson ES-335 Kit Guitar Build

I mentioned earlier in a post that I am going to build a guitar kit, I've found it to be fun and challenging. The kit is a Stu Mac ES-335 and I am only using the body and neck, all else is upgraded from the kit, bit by bit have been working on this, nice kit, decent veneer, so far so good.
  4. Tom Niemi

Dad’s bird carvings

A while back there was some interest in my dad’s carvings, he was a song bird carver, and IMHO a pretty darn good one, so here are some of his carvings, pictures are shot through glass so there is some reflection.
  5. Tom Niemi

My Dad’s Urn

I made this using Michigan’s upper peninsula Birdseye Maple and Walnut I helped mill. My dad was from the upper peninsula so I felt this wood is fitting for him and he will be buried up there 1/2 mile from where he was born and raised. The engraving was wonderfully done by Bill Arnold, thank you...
  6. Tom Niemi

Lost a great man today

I normally don’t post things like this, but felt compelled to anyway. I lost my dad this afternoon at the age of 92, stubborn ole finlander has battled cancer and beat it 3 times since 1999, but the 4th time, along with Alzheimer’s, lost the final battle. We were heading there weds for a visit...
  7. Tom Niemi

Barn doors