CNC

David Johnson

Just finished watching a Google post on CNC 3018, small machine an priced at 200.00 dollars. At this price point I feel I could jump into the pool. Looks simple enough to build and sturdy looking. What computer necessary for control, how about programming? I am just a beginner so treat me gentle. It would be used just to create carved small panels and perhaps to personalize items. Or am I jumping into a dark lagoon? At least the price is on the low side so II won't blow the budget.
David

Nice! Looks like a nice little machine. I'll have to take a look at it a bit closer to give any real feedback on it, so I'll just jump to software for now.

Besides some software to send commands to the machine, you'll need some kind of software to generate the gcode for your machine. There are free ones like F-Engrave (https://www.scorchworks.com/Fengrave/fengrave.html) and I'm sure there are others available, just been a while that I've looked at any.

I want to say that vectric has a free software that works with designs that you buy from their Design/Make store also for more intricate designs.

I've looked at those before and There are a lot of people that use them for smaller projects.

Just beware, I started with a very small/inexpensive laser engrave to get my feet wet and it led to me getting/building 3 3d printers, a k40 laser, and an OX cnc with a jtech laser on it, lol.

What kind of computer do you currently have? Ideally, you'll want something that can be moved to sit close to the machine for the usb connection to control it.

The way it usually works is you use some kind of software to generate a 'gcode' file. Some of those applications will have a built in way to send that to the cnc, otherwise you might have to use a gcode sender.

All in all, it does seem like a decent way to get your feet wet in CNC machining.