Did i NEEEEED another drill press?

Paul Hubbman

This found its way into the back of my truck on friday. I'm pleased as punch with the Walker Turner DP that i've been using for the past 9 years, but couldn't let this one go. My wife dutifully shook her head and rolled her eyes, then accepted the fate of being wed to an addict.
It's a South Bend (known for metal lathes) 14" floor model. I think it's from sometime near the 50's and looks like it's seen light use. Someone slimed it with mint green at some point, but there's no rust to speak of, everything that should be loose is loose. Everything that should be tight is tight, and there are no missing or broken pieces.
I dragged it down the steps, plugged it in, and it fired up nice and smoothly. There's a GE 1/3 hp motor, and the belt loosening / motor mount setup is a thing of simplistic beauty.
I don't know when exactly i'll get to the rebuild - before spring i'm sure. There are a few things in front of it. If the bearings check out, it's actually in plug n play condition.
There are already 2 drill presses in the shop - my WT 900 series, and a C-man 9" on the kids' bench. My thinking is to dedicate the WT to woodworking, puting a large table and fence on it. The South Bend would then be for everything else.
Is my wife right? Am i a bit nuts? Asking this crowd, i already know you'll all back me up here. It's just that this goes a bit against my grain, keeping two identical machines when i could manage just fine with the one i've got.
I'll get better pics up at some point.
paulh

Attachments

• 3k13oe3p55Qe5S35R598q9e2c986a81c21e5d.jpg
    3k13oe3p55Qe5S35R598q9e2c986a81c21e5d.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 91
  • 3m03od3pe5Ob5Pa5R598qe246ab78479e1daf.jpg
    3m03od3pe5Ob5Pa5R598qe246ab78479e1daf.jpg
    9 KB · Views: 82
  • 3mc3o73p75O35Re5Se98q2f6ea90416c31473.jpg
    3mc3o73p75O35Re5Se98q2f6ea90416c31473.jpg
    9.7 KB · Views: 101