Finishing class at the guild

Darren Wright

Administrator
Staff member
I'm taking a finishing class at the local guild. Our instructor normally does the classes at our local WoodCraft where he works part time, but he's a finisher/restoration pro by trade. It's a 3 day class where he's covering a lot of different techniques. We're working on sample boards and keeping track of the steps taken on a finish log that can be taped to the back of its sample board for future reference.

Besides lots of sanding, we worked with various sealers (commercial and glue sizes), tints, water and oil based stains, fillers, and chalk type paints. We'll be adding to these boards over the next couple of classes to learn brush and spray techniques. The taped areas are for the raw wood reference when we're done.

2019-04-22 21.52.42.jpg

BTW, I have a lot of great take-aways from this class, but heating up BLO in a bottle in a crockpot with water was a new one. The warmed BLO helps open up the wood fibers to penetrate further into the wood.

BTW, I have a lot of great take-aways from this class, but heating up BLO in a bottle in a crockpot with water was a new one. The warmed BLO helps open up the wood fibers to penetrate further into the wood.

That sounds like a great idea. :thumb: Does it also reduce the viscosity of the BLO?

Sous vide BLO. :D

That sounds like a great idea. :thumb: Does it also reduce the viscosity of the BLO?

Sous vide BLO. :D

Yes, it did quite so, went to drip a few drops on the walnut and covered half my samples for that board.

On a side note, I'm curious how the walnut will come out on that top section where we've covered it in a neon yellow dye (top board). :huh:

Keep good notes. I still refer to notes from the 80's

Absolutely, though I need to re-write them with a bit more detail while it's still fresh.

Attached is the sheet he's having us use with the boards, which have kerfs cut to divide them into 8 sections.