The New Carol CNC.... design.

Don Baer

Staff member
Well taking all the extrusions that we unloaded from the trailer I was able to come up with design. Pardone my poor drawing my sketchup skills are a bit rusty and I am still learning the newest version. The first phase will be to build the base so I have a place to assemble the machine. Keep in mind I am doing this in a 10x20 garage and there's a lot of junk (not mine) stored there. This used to be my shop but somehow I have lost floor space so I will have to reclaim it a piece at a time. Anyhow here is a drawing of the machine as seen from the front. The wheels will be locking.

NEW CNC.jpg

The back has a 10" deep space where I plan on housing all of the controls, power supplies etc. No worried about a layout yet but there will be an opening near the top on the cover/door and fans to circulate the air. Still up in the air if I want to enclose the bottom or just cover it with a screen to keep any critter out. heat is a killer on electronics and that one thing we get an abundance of here in Arizona.

Back of new CNC.jpg

looking at Carols posts it appear that this is all the pieces she had. The following shows the usable build area...unless I am missing something I see no way this machine could have done any more. I do thinks she was going to use the open space on the left for her rotary access but that would cut down on the usable work area...OH well..... it is what it is..

CNC work area.jpg

The gantry is on wrong, flip it 180, put the spindle on the other side, and you'll gain some work area. ;)

Edit: looks like that may be the way it's intended to mount if it's their pro version. Most others do mount on the opposite side. I know she was planning to have a 4th axis, which I thought was going on the right side of the first photo in your other thread.

Last edited: