Wooden Windmill

So what sayeth the experts? Do you think its feasible to build a working wooden windmill? By working I mean able to withstand the buffering of the wind, apply power and do something useful with it?

Everyone knows on here that I am a machinist and can weld and fabricate, but even at the price my company pays for steel, its kind of prohibitive for an all steel windmill. I was thinking of making the majority of my windmill out of wood and then using steel for only the parts that really need to be steel.

I was thinking of building a verticle axis windmill (VAWM) and then building the tower out of wood as well. Maybe a 16 foot section 8 x 8, then another section 16 feet high 6 x 6, and then a final section 16 foot section 4 x 4 so it was 48 feet high in all.

As for the "work", I really don't need electricity. What little bit it would produce would do very little to drop my electric bill. Instead I would like to do something with heat. I had two ideas really. Coupling the windmill so that it was running an air compressor. I could use the air inside my shop, but more importantly I could encircle the compressor with water tubes and run that water into my radiant floor heating system (low temp water).

Another idea is to use the windmill to run a plunger. This plunger would compress hydraulic oil out through a relief valve. Squeezing that oil through such a tiny orifice heats oil up very fast. If I take that hydraulic oil and coil the hydraulic line inside a water tank, it should heat the water up as well. I could then transfer that heated water to my radiant floor.

So what do you think? Would a wooden windmill work, and would some of my ideas for converting mechanical motion into heat energy also work?

Travis do you get or have you ever seen the magazine "Farm Show"? It is a magazine about farmer built inventions. Saw a farmer utilizing 50 gallon barrels and collecting the methane. For some reason, thought of you while reading that! :rolleyes: