electrical fan ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

larry merlau

if you have a fan that is single speed, and is made for exhausting fumes. if you were to put a reostat on it to slow the speed down is that going to harm the motor? and what type of motor could i do that to safely?

I'm no expert but I believe you are looking for a motor that has brushes like your drill or router, not like your bench grinder.

No expert but you need to know the amperage/votage of the fan motor and find a fan control for that amperage and voltage. Maybe more inline with a whole house fan control but hard to tell until you know the amp/voltage.

Hopes this helps.

Mark

clarification!!

ok i have been told by enuff folk that slowing a fand own with reostate isnt a good idea with what i am using so now the next question... this is going in a finish room which already has pressured air coming in room size is
12 x 16 x10ft high.. how many cfms should i have in the fan? the presureized air is coming from a furnace fan. dont know the cfm of it???

Larry...

I don't know whether or not this would work for you...you're finishing room is much larger than mine. I don't have a gzinta fan, just a gzouta. I sealed the room pretty well and framed for a furnace filter in one wall. The fan will pull the door closed the last inch or so, and a thread tied to the filter stands straight out. It does a pretty good job of pulling fresh air through which is filtered for dust control. Eliminates the problem of balancing fan throughput.

Cheers.

well i was told that!!

presureizing the room was the best way to push put the bad fumes:huh::dunno: so that was what i did but i didnt have large enough out hole,,, been just opening the window but that lets out the bad stuff to high.. i want it to go out low where it settles first. i found a fan that is around 2000cfm so i should be in the right direction now thanks for the replies folk:thumb:

Last edited:
Heya Larry...