Bandsaw "Funny Story"

Dan Mosley

I wrote the post about buying the central machine 14" bandsaw and got alot of needed help from the folks out there and i really appreciate it.

I Wanted to share a funny story though with everyone......I am self taught from this website and buying a few DVD's on turning (Grumbine, Raffan,Tibs).
There are no wood turners in my area and the good ones live to far away for me to afford to go to for lessons....so i got the DVD's and a book Raffan wrote..........and went at it on my own. I Watched them many times when i got my lathe 7mo ago (Jet 2hp EVS pro) and with the help of these great DVD's i have been really having alot of fun turning when i can........

Ok Now for the funny story.......as i watched the videos i noticed that in Bill Grumbines shop he has a very nice bandsaw and i thought "wow" that would be great to have one of those. But just cutting logs now and then i could not justify the expense. Still would love to have a nice big machine like that.
So, i settled for and bought the central machine (low end i know....) 14" at a estate sale for $100 and recently bought another blade and riser kit............Ok, just before i picked up the Central machine one i went and looked at a guy who had closed down his shop and was selling all his equipment that was in it plus more he had in storage (i think he used to make shutters or something). Anyway, in the storage room he had alot of equipment that had not been used in years. I could tell because it was filled dirt,dust,grim etc....and never touched so it looked and it was as dark as a cave. He had a bandsaw in the back and wanted some really high price ($1,500) for it as well as all his other tools so i just looked and thanked him for showing me the tools.