Noob from South Africa

Hi everybody.

I am a new member, just joined this morning.

I stay in Pretoria, South Africa. I am a Mechanical engineer at a company that design and manufacture Electrodes for the Ferrochrome industry.

I enjoy woodwork as a hobby and try to get into my garage every night after work. Most Saterdays as well.

My other hobby is offroading. Growing up on a farm, I use this to get back into nature.

I hope I can contribute to this forum and learn form skilled wood workers.

Any other South Africans on this forum?

Regards

Uys

PS. My name is pronounced "ACE" - it is Dutch.

Welcome to the Family Uys :wave:

Nice to see someone else doing woodworking from another country.

We like pictures, so if you get a chance, we'd all love a tour of your garage workshop

Cheers!

Welcome to the Family Uys :wave:

Nice to see someone else doing woodworking from another country.

We like pictures, so if you get a chance, we'd all love a tour of your garage workshop

Cheers!

Hi Stuart.

I'm still fairly new in woodworking, so my double garage doubles as my workshop. I'll take some pics and post it.

Below is some recent stuff I did. The little box is a test for a box that I am working on now to give to friends as a wedding gift. Yes, I know the catch is upside down:eek::eek:! Is there a thread somewhere here for those stupid things you do when in a hurry and don't think?

The table, I am working on currently, and the TV cabinet is done, will be hanging the doors this weekend.

I'm having issues to commit to just one project with woodwork, there is so many things I want to do.

Regards
Uys

Rooshout boksie.jpg

Rooshout tafel.jpg

Rooshout tafel.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_3822.jpg
    IMG_3822.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 39
Uys, looks to me like you have a great start on things, for being a "Beginner" :thumb:

The box looks great, I'd not worry about the hasp, most people would not even notice.

The table looks great, really sturdy :D

Did you turn the legs?