Busy night

Paul Downes

Last week a friend and I + some other guys butchered 4 hogs and we put up 75# of meats to smoke. Problem is we didn't have a smoker big enough to get the job done. So I studied up on smokehouse designs and we finished our new smokehouse this morning. Got done smoking the stuff around 10:00 pm. Just as I was finishing up over at my friends farm I got a call from my son with some very disturbing news. Apparently we had an attempted robbery. My younger son was being dropped off from his cub scout meeting and saw a guy dressed up in a Santa suit standing in our front flower bed looking in the living room window. When he got out of the neighbors truck he asked the guy what he was doing and the guy said " don't you know who I am?' My son replied "you're not Santa Clause" The guy then ran at my son who ran in the house. He then turned and ran to a waiting truck. I had my older son call the cops and they came out and took a report. These guys were sure brazen. There was at least 3 cars parked in the drive and 2 of my older sons at home. They would have run the guy to ground had they been aware of what was going on. Guess I better keep the shotgun handy. This is out in farm country. We generally don't take kindly to vermin like this.

Last summer there was 2-3 attempted kidnapings in the area. An older man tried to grab a 12 yr. old in one instance. Looks like it's time to put the word out again.

Bad situation. Human nature would be to hesitate shooting Santa just on the possibility it was an attempt at Christmas humor.
I think I would shoot his reindeer then hold him for questioning. ;)

One of my past student's house got broken into then they burnt it to cover up or dispose of evidence. 28 guns somewhere. I love my gun safe, just need to buy two more so all can be secured!!:rofl: