Bosch colt-what is it for?

larry merlau

ok here i go again, this time i got a pic i hope that will explain my question.

what is this black thing on the cord for ? it slides up and down the cord freely.

Attachments

• colt.bmp
    106.2 KB · Views: 97
Larry

Your picture isn't showing up in the post and when I click on it my computer says it doesn't know what program to use to open it.

Jay

Larry

Your picture isn't showing up in the post and when I click on it my computer says it doesn't know what program to use to open it.

Jay

.bmp image

Use windows picture and fax viewer, in XP Pro

yeah i dont know why io couldnt see it as pic in the preveiw either had no idea for sure if it was gonna show up. you can go to the rockler page and see i there.

I dunno the real name for it, but I believe it's a magnet thing to reduce the electrical interference caused by the router.

Well I'm no engineer and don't completely understand just how they work. But on most computer equipment and audio/video equipment there is a "choke" installed on the power cord. Somehow it helps control RF interference from the equipment. They look like circular magnets and just slip over the cord. Sometimes they're encased in an enclosure but sometimes you can see the individual chokes.

John

I guess since these are likely to be used in a living space for a countertops the RF could interfer with other household electronics. Not sure the benefit for a shop space. It seems small enough that it probably doesn't matter:dunno:

It should help keep static (motor noise) from other equipment, radios are usually very suseptable, as well as computers. If it slides, I'd put it at the router end, to keep/reduce motor noise off the power cord/lines. If you have a radio on closeby that you can hear, experiment a bit.

It's just a "static noise" thing, not safety/performance related.

It is a RF choke or ferite core. It will not allow high frequency signals to pass while allowing low frequency to pass.