Curly maple w/ crushed turquoise inlay rim

Nathan Hawkes

This is a recent one of mine, Curly silver maple (I thought it was silver anyway, could be sugar maple) with a shallow turquoise inlay on the rim. Turquoise is a pain to crush with a mortar & pestle. Pretty hard! Finish is Minwax Antique Oil. I'm new to photography. Sorry bout the lame pics. Its about 13" by 4" tall

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Attachments

• mini-Nate's Bowls 044.jpg
    mini-Nate's Bowls 044.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 139
  • mini-Nate's Bowls 045.jpg
    mini-Nate's Bowls 045.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 140
  • mini-Nate's Bowls 047.jpg
    mini-Nate's Bowls 047.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 142
  • mini-Nate's Bowls 048.jpg
    mini-Nate's Bowls 048.jpg
    74.4 KB · Views: 142
  • mini-Nate's Bowls 049.jpg
    mini-Nate's Bowls 049.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 140
Thanks so much for the compliments, folks! This was fun, and challenging. I was informed this afternoon that you can buy turquoise already crushed. DOH! That would've saved some time. http://stores.ebay.com/GILMER-ROCK-SHOP

You inspired me Nate and I just ordered crushed stone from the Gilmer's. Thanks, and again beautiful bowl. I showed my wife your bowl and she said make sure you tell him it is beautiful!

Nathan, that is really nice, I love the wood, and the inlay on the rim is VERY nice indeed...... :thumb:

I am going to try to offer up some constructive criticism, for me, to my taste, I do not think the extra curve on the bottom helps the piece, to me, in my opinion, it takes away from the piece, I could be wrong about that, and having only pictures to look at I'd not be surprised if I am wrong, but from the pictures, I think that the piece would be even nice than it is (and let me say again, it is a nice piece!) if the bottom curve was just one curve.

Still, I've not done anything nearly as nice as that, so take what I'm saying with a grain of salt :)