WANTED wood turning lathe --- So. Calif.

Hi,

I think I am going to step off of the cliff into the abyss.
I intend to purchase a lathe. I have been looking at new in all the usual places. Glenn, my son, suggested that I try the FWW classifieds for used.

Since I am new to turning, this is the way I am looking at it.
I would try a mini if the deal was really fantastic.
I would prefer mid-size.
I would be thrilled with a 12 / 36.

I have looked at the Woodtek at $1,400. However that dollar amount scares me since I don't know what in the heck I am doing. Also, I will have to spend quite a few $$$ for tools, chucks, face shield, etc. no matter what I buy. If you have something, give me a call (760-529-2392), email <jandmbradley@cox.net> or 1561 Havenwood Dr. Oceanside, CA 92056

Enjoy,

Jim

Last edited:
Jim, I stared on a lathe almost exactly like the $109.00 model in Chuck's first link. It's workable for pens and bottle stoppers, but real limited power for bowls. The Jet mini is definitely a better lathe, but it's also nearly five times the price.

I'll keep my eyes open for any decent used ones around here.

Jim - I'm starting with the Delta mini. It has about 5 speeds via pulley. Hindsight clearly indicates that variable speed would have been worth saving up for. I'm starting out with a Harbor Freight HSS toolset and three Thompson gouges - 1/2" bowl gouges, one each V and U profile and a 3/8" detail gouge, cause I hated the HF 1/4" spindle gouge. Toss in a facemask with those tools and you're at about $200. Using the HF tools to make handles for the Thompson tools is good practice too. A reasonable chuck that will last until you are self-sufficient enough to be spendy will be around $200 as well.