Learning stuff

Jim Burr

Has anyone ever taken a workshop (3-5 day) at Craft Supply? Being mostly self taught, I'm really think some of the bad or non-existent habits could go away. :wave::rolleyes:

I've never taken a course, but just watching a demo by a pro once taught me a lot...of course I'm probably back to my bad habits now since that was over a year ago. :huh:

If the cost seems right, I'd say go for it.

Jim , furthering education in any vocation is always a good thing weather you study on your own through types or in a classroom setting. I have taken many hours of class/hands on studies. I like the interaction with others students and on spot instructions. I get allot from other students questions that I did not think of.

At 55 I'm still leaning and if something comes along I want to learn a classroom is fast. The pro's usually give good tid-bits not shared in types.

Frank I hope to still be learning and have to desire to too when I'm an ol Fart :rofl:

Heck, I just hope I live to be an old fart :eek:

I have to agree that the DVDs and such are great, I know I have a modest collection :rolleyes: but hands on cannot be beat, especially if you luck out and have a good, or great teacher.

Cheers!

Read about it and sure have thought about doing the same and taking the shop classes.........but self taught also from this site and others but what i think helped me the most is buying some DVD's (Grumbine's both of them, Tibbits, and Raffan). Each one has something to offer and i can watch them over and over and practice trial and error - have learned alot this way - same thing with the tool grinding video's from Oneway and Jet........
Lastly, before i opened my wallet and bought the video's i watched (and still do) U-tube videos on wood turning.........always learning something.
I have some books on turning but i find the videos helped me the most.

Dan