Getting logs sawmilled

Rick Prosser

Did not want to hijack the Big'uns thread, but it reminded me of something else. (no, not that :eek:)

I have a number of trees that were cut due to power lines and road construction. I have found someone with a sawmill that charges $170 for 1000 bf. I don't want to waste the wood, so I am considering having some of the trees milled, but I have never done it before and don't know what to ask for.

I have mostly Oak, but also Southern Pine, Hickory, and Wild Cherry.

I have no immediate need for the wood, but am looking to future use.

What is minimum diameter that I should bother with?
What size/type of cuts should I request?

Will I need a special place to store the lumber?

I haven't done this yet, but have looked into a few aspects of it.
As far as the cut goes, you might consider having at least some of the oak, hickory and cherry quarter sawn if you're thinking of using it for any furniture or cabinetry.
You can air dry it - typically takes about a year for every 1" of rough cut thickness. For this, you'd need some sort of covering to put the wood under, and you'll need to spend some time stickering the rough cut wood right after it's cut so that air can properly circulate around the wood. If you've got figured wood or pieces thicker than an inch and a half, you might consider sealing the ends of the wood to help it dry more evenly, reducing any checking or warping. You can buy products especially made for this, but my Dad has found that aluminum paint works quite well for less money. Simply paint the ends of the boards where the cells are open and prone to drying much faster than the reast of the board.
People have different opinions on this, but wood generally isn't too stable / ready for very accurate work (furniture, cabinetry, etc.) until it's down to about 10 or 12% moisture content. You might want to invest in a moisture meter so you have a handle on this as you go.