Paste Wood Grain Filler

Hello Family Woodworking Forum,

I am a novice woodworker - and am on my 2nd project. I have, with the help of a friend, built a Mission-style coffee table out of White Oak.

To finish, I planned on using Transfast Dark Mission Brown dye. On my test pieces I sanded up to 220, then applied the dye. I noticed the dye doesn't really get into the deep grain very well, and with a darker dye like Mission Brown the light natural wood color down in the grain pores really stands out.

To fix this, I tried applying one coat of Poly mixed with Naptha (60/40) to seal the dye, let that dry overnight, scuff sanded with 320, then applied a gel stain. I used Bartleys Gel Stain, Espresso. This actually filled the deeper grain pores and colored them, but accentuated the grain too much. I'm going to try a lighter gel stain color to avoid the darker grain look.

After the gel stain set up and dried, applied 2-3 more coats of Poly, scuffed sanded, then applied 2-3 coats of Bartleys Satin Gel Varnish to finish it off and cut back the gloss a little.

I like the color and the finish, but for the table top I would like the grain filled in a little more and for it to be smoother. I have no experience with any grain or pore fillers. Can anyone shed some light on how they are used? In my above sequence - when do you use a filler? Before dying?

Thanks

Thanks Darren,

I knew I was in the right place! The coffee table I'm building is to accompany my first project - a mission style tv stand. I made that out of hard maple. Here's a pic, sorry for the bluriness. (Sorry, I guess the pic is too big, I will resize and send later).

Mike

Michael,

I can't answer your question, but wanted to welcome you to the family. :wave:

Someone will be along shortly to help you though. :)

P.S. We like lots of pics...;)

Attachments

• coffeetable.jpg
    coffeetable.jpg
    129.6 KB · Views: 52
Last edited:
hi mike!