Grand daughters bed

Bob Gibson

I'm making a "big girl bed" for my granddaughter Abby. Its going to be kind of a mission style design twin bed.

I brought a box of Dunkin's best to the guy I buy some of my wood from and he let me walk around his warehouse to pick out some wood. I was going to use all oak but I found a pile of cherry. I was going to glue up 3 pieces to make the posts but then I found 2 10' lengths of 3x5 butternut. Anyway he gave me everything for half price. $70.00. I've never worked with either wood before.

Questions:
I'm thinking of making the headboard and footboard from the cherry and making the posts from the butternut. Will this look stupid?

I need about 22pcs 2" x3/8" x 16" for the slats on the hb and fb. I dont want to waste all the 4/4 cherry by planing it down. I was thinking of cutting the slats to the 2" thickness and then trying to resaw them on my bandsaw. I just have the Shopsmith band saw and the widest blade I have is 3/8". Anyone got any better ideas.

I would also appreciate any finishing ideas.

PC020123 (600 x 450).jpg

PC020124 (600 x 450).jpg

I got to thinking about it and I felt having the 2 different wood species on the bed may not look right. So I went back to the wood guy today and bought enough butternut for the rails and foot and head board. I'll save the cherry for something else thats special.

I had time today to make the posts and plane down the long boards. The 3x5 post stock was somewhat twisted in spots and it was a bear to get it all straight. The good news is I have enough cutoffs to make about a billion pens. (sorry Larry):D. Or maybe a cute little bowl for Frank :D.

Figured out how to make the slats as well.

I could still use some suggestions for finishes folks. :(

PC040126 (600 x 450).jpg

PC040127 (600 x 450).jpg