Photographing jewelry?

Joseph Shaul

I've just finished a pair of earrings made from sterling silver and old military-surplus subminiature vacuum tubes. (only 1 1/3" long, not including earhooks - and I was *very* careful to keep the weight down!) However, my efforts at photography didn't turn out so well - everything has a sort of orangeish tint (possibly due to the interior lighting), there's lots of glare, and I had some trouble getting my Canon point-and-shoot to focus even in macro mode. Does anyone have any tips?

Might want to see if there's a color balance setting to match the color to the light you are using.

Also, might want to look into one of those little mini photo tents that diffuse the light.

I'm no expert, but when I shoot small stuff, I turn the flash off, put it on a tripod, and use the self timer to pull the trigger for me...

Joseph,
My daughter shoots a fair amount of jewelry and small glass objects. I fixed her up on the cheap with a photo 'tent' made from a styrofoam ice chest as a light diffuser, a piece of light gray mat board bent into a nice curve as a background and a high color temperature (5000k or better) daylight compact flourescent bulb in a cheap aluminum clamp on reflector from lowe's. It works well at less than $20. Set your camera on a tripod, adjust the white balance for daylight and experiment with various angles shining the light through the cooler. Your orange tint might be reflected color from your background. It's better to use a neutral gray or even black for your background.

Last edited:
Good tips so far. Diffused light 5000K, no flash, tripod, neutral gray background and self-timer are five things I use for pretty much every "product" shot.

Joseph, there might be some useful info for you in Neil Addy's photo tutorial here.