Welding

Allen Grimes

I have little (very little) experience with welding and one of my clients wants me to weld the hinges to his doors to the metal door frames.

This is a common practice here so I was thinking that it might be a good idea to buy my own machine instead of borrowing from my cousin. So I was wondering what would be a good machine to get for small jobs. And also more importantly I would like it to be a little easier to use than what I am using now.

Right now I am using a machine that is basicly 2 car jumper cables and a sparkler. I dont know how else to describe it. 1 cable clamps to the work and the other holds the sparkler. It is a PITA to use.

Is there any hope?

Last edited:
What you have is a stick welder.
You probably need a portable wire welder.

[Never heard of welding hinges to the door frames:huh: ]

Allen,

What type of metal are the hinges and door frame? If they are just plane old iorn or steel you can use something like this. These types of units are very easy to use. http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_200318739_200318739

If they are stainless steel or some other material that requires a sheilding gas you will have to go for a more complete welder.

Stick welders are very difficult to use unless you weld all of the time, especially if you want it to look good as well as getting a good weld.

I hope that links are acceptable here. I guess that I should read the rules again.

Allen

Last edited:
Wire feed welder with either flux core wire or inert gas sheilding (not as good for outdoor work, wind will disrupt the sheilding and give you a really bad weld). Kinda like a hot glue gun for metal. Lincoln, Hobart, and Miller all make relatively inexpensive models. Look for a higher duty cycle if you want a better unit, and spring for a nice big extension cord if you need one (like about 14 to 12 awg), less voltage drop means a better weld.