Infamous Olympus

Frank Fusco

I'm still learning to use my new Olympus camera. I'm also still blown away at how much technology is packed into this little package. Enneyhow, the learning part is my problem. But, a design feature I really don't like is that the camera is difficult to hold. One of the accessories I purchased for it is an auxiliary flash that works wirelessly with radio signals up to about 50 feet. For extra light and bounce features, I mounted the standard way with a bar. Whole thang still hard to hold. :bang: So, nice thing about having a big, huge, powerful, expensive lathe is that I can go into shop (something I haven't had time to do much of lately) and make a handy little handle. :headbang: Which I did from some mahogany I had in the 'maybe this will be useful someday' barrel. Does make it much easier to hold. I simply stuck a piece of a 1/4"X20 bolt into a hole in top and fixed with 5 min. epoxy for the stud. Works. :D

Attachments

• infamous Olympus.jpg
    infamous Olympus.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 67
Looks like a great setup Frank. I have a big Canon with all the bells and whistles. Now I just need to take a course on how to take pictures with it.:dunno: I hate it when machines are smarter than me.:rofl: I generally end up using the wife's point and shoot camera which takes a pretty fair picture.

Frank, you are correct on the learning curve. It can be steep. I've been a working freelance photographer for the last 15 years and when I made the switch from film to digital I was in a fog. I can shoot hundreds of shots every day. I use some of the most high end Canon equipment every day and there are still days when I have to pull out a manual to remind me of a feature. They are great tools and can do so much but just like the woodworker in all of us, it is up to us to learn proper use and technique.
I like the bracket you made. Well done.

Tom