Pedestal Table - TDW-2010 Fallout

glenn bradley

Well the tour of Sam's place planted a seed. I need an end table for the living room. Fortunately, since I have never done this sort of thing before, I have a collection of junk-wood I keep for mock-ups and prototypes:

a-PedTab-Const-Lmbr.jpg

I use a magnet as a stop on an Incra rule to keep the rule still while I mark for some dados:

b-Ped-Table Mag Trick 1.jpgc-Ped-Table Mag Trick 2.jpg

I've become big on setup blocks and already cut parts as measuring devices:

d-Ped-Table SU blks 2.jpge-Ped-Table SU blks .jpg

I set a dado stack up at less than the desired width and run the piece twice per side. Once with each face against the fence and end-for-end. This centers the dado and creates my final width:

f-Ped-Table Dado 1.jpg

Last edited:
Pedestal Table - TDW Fallout Cont'd

The center post starts to take shape:

g-Ped-Table Dado 2.jpg

I played around with the total leg profile. I have three ideas I will mock up and attach for a "real world" view:

h-Ped-Table-Template.jpg

Yet another use for the old Mortise Pal:

i-Ped-Table-MP.jpg

Clamping these things is an art form I have not mastered but, that's why I test these things out on scrap lumber. I think I now have a plan but, its not shown here ;-)

j-Ped-Table-Glueup 2.jpg

A little touching up and its time for dados on the legs:

k-Ped-Table Dado 3.jpgl-Ped-Table Dado 4.jpg

Yet another great use for the medium shoulder plane:

m-Ped-Table Dado 5.jpg

I'll keep stuff coming as I progress. The real build will be in black walnut as a tip of the hat to the late, great Sam Maloof.

Last edited:
Good for you Glenn. As you probubly know I've made a few of those. If I can aswer any questions for ya please feel free to ask. Looks to me that your well on your way. One thing I do differantly is I glue the three pieces for the legs befor shaping them with the template. Thats the way Sam taught me. Makes it easier to clamp. Your way seems to be working.