what epoxy?

Frank Fusco

Until recently I have used a name brand, twin hypodermic type dual tube, epoxy for my shop needs, mostly pen making. Even though it is expensive that way I found it handy and it did not harden between uses. Not long ago, Wal-Mart stopped carrying the brand I was using and now has a no-name version. Not good. It often does not set-up and just stays gooey and won't hold. I'm considering getting the bulk size from one of the better known suppliers. Any comments on this would be appreciated. e.g is it good? Does it go bad? Or good deal?

Some years ago I started using System Three epoxy, and have been happy with it. I bought this brand because I thought their Epoxy Book was very good. As a chemist, I find product literature to be very bad in general, and almost never accurate. This is an exception. West also has a lot of information on the web that I don't want to disparage, but I have not checked it out as carefully.

System Three also has trial kits that include enough of several different kinds of epoxies to let you know how they work. A trial kit probably has more epoxy than the small containers you've been buying, but you are warned that you may well find more uses for the stuff and want to buy a lot more. I don't know if they still do it, but they used to refund the entire price of the trial kit if you bought more.

Epoxy Book:
http://www.systemthree.com/reslibrary/m_published-literature.asp

Trial Kit:
http://www.systemthree.com/store/pc/SilverTip-Trial-Kit-48p235.htm

west dont mess around get the pumps and be done with it you wont regret. just remember to mix scrape into new jar mix again. problem fixed. i would go three to one system