Outfitting the shop, part 2

Chris Hatfield

Former Member (by the member's request)
(Don't look for a part 1) :doh:

It's been a fun year. And expensive. I've gone from having a set of four cordless tools and a storage shed to having a decent amount of real tools and a shop. Yes, a shop. It's official, since my wife commented on it the other day. :D

I'm ready to take my woodworking to the next level by acquiring some 'next level' tools. I promise not to be stubborn this time and listen, but I do have some limitations on space and money that I've alluded to earlier.

Chisels - I've got some cheap HF ones, but I was looking at a set of the Blue Marpels for every day use. Barring some super sale on LV or LN ones.

Planes - I'll probably save this for a separate thread, as I'm completely new to it.

Band saw - yes, again. I did manage to find room in the shop for a 12" or 14" model. It appears that the G0555 is the standard at the entry price point, but I'm interested to hear alternatives if I see some used.

Jointer - I probably best have room for a benchtop, but I *think* I could make room for a floor stander as well. My wallet might not, though. This would really help me build the tables I am looking to make.

OSS - I can get away with the drum sander on the drill press for a little bit, but one is calling my name to make some chairs with. Considering the Ridgid 4663

Dust collector - this is a tricky one. Right now I am using a '3HP' shop vac with a 5gal separator bucket and lid, when I could use it on just the one extension cord. I picked up a long extension cord to put it on it's own circuit, because it was drawing too much power for one along with a tool.

Without the band saw or the floor jointer, I definitely have the floor room for a DC like the Harbor Freight one. I say floor, because I'm not sure if it would fit vertically. With a filter? Probably. I see a multitude of alternatives here besides trying to shove it in there regardless: