copyright question

Frank Fusco

I'm hoping we have an expert on copyright here.
I am pretty much OK when it comes to written works but, in this case, I am wondering about painted or drawn artistic works.
I am a fan of artist Bev Doolittle. Each year my wife gives me a new Doolittle calendar. I now have a collection of these going back a number of years. Lately, I got to thinking they might be saleable if I separate each picture, frame it and offer on eBay.
I have seen these offered but they always have a caveat the seller is not offering the picture, just the frame and the pic just happens to be inside. Kinda phoney, IMHO. But why the comment at all?
I know a copyright book can be resold. And a turned artistic vase can be resold. So, why not possibly a print of a painting?
BTW, below is one of my favorites.

Attachments

• griz.jpg
    griz.jpg
    12.6 KB · Views: 41
Frank so long as you are not claiming to be the artist and reproducing the image then you are not breaking any copyright laws. It is my understanding that you can resell an original anything that you have paid for and at what ever price that you can get for it so long as you don't copy it. The CD and music issue with the copyright issues have polorized this issue in that I can give you a cd or sell you a cd but I can't make copies of it to sel. I know I have gone through a long battle over one of my photos of an eagle that an unscupulous photographer aquired at a photo store in Prince rupert where the owner had permission to sell them, This fellow made copies of my pictuire and put them on post cards for his own gain without my permission.

Lately, I got to thinking they might be saleable if I separate each picture, frame it and offer on eBay.
I have seen these offered but they always have a caveat the seller is not offering the picture, just the frame and the pic just happens to be inside. Kinda phoney, IMHO. But why the comment at all?