Mahogany Headboard

Hi everyone,

I made a headboard from Philippine Mahogany stock, and i've done a pretty good job so far considering that this is my first time dabbling in carpentry.

I did the pre-staining conditioning and then stained it using an oil-based stain (minwax).

I was hoping someone could help me with the finish. It's obviously not going to get heavy use but I do want a finish that is durable so the piece lasts a long time, but also looks good. Something good, durable and easy to use. (not to be too demanding haha)

I'm afraid of using polyurethane because since i don't have a "workshop" it gets a little dusty and i don't want to ruin all the work i've done so far.

I've been doing some reading and found some comments saying that i shouldn't use oil finishings since i used the oil-based stain.

Anyway, any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Pablo

Welcome to the forum, Pablo. :wave:

You have a lot of finish options. For something like a headboard, I'd be inclined to use some type of spray lacquer, but I'm guessing as a relatively new woodworker, you don't have spray equipment. I finish a lot of my turned wood pieces with lacquer out of a spray can, and I'd think with care, spray cans could do a headboard as well. One of the advantages to lacquer is that it's fast-drying, so it has less chance to get dust nibs. With enough coats built up, you can get a very durable finish, and with some buffing get a very high gloss (if that's what's wanted). Lacquer also does a great satin finish if you're not interested in the glossy look. Another advantage to lacquer is that it is "repairable", in that new lacquer will melt old lacquer, and the two bond into a single film. If something gets scratched in the future, it can usually be touched up without having to refinish the whole piece.