Laquer, wet sanding, buffing, etc.

Dave Black

I am working on some snare drums, and I am getting to the finishing now. I picked up a quart of minwax clear gloss laquer. I have not done any type of polished gloss finishes yet. Is laquer a good finish for this application. I have a binks spray gun, not sure of the model, its a siphon style( cup under the gun) Where should I start? I have never used laquer before either, will this yellow much?

Laquer will be a great finish but as with any oil based finish it will yellow. If you want a finish that won't yellow the only finish I have found is water based poly.

is it going to be a lot of yellowing, will the yellowing be over time or will there be some right away like with polyurethane. What steps do I take to get a really glossy finish typical of musical instruments.

I don't know what lacquer Don uses, but in my experience, the yellowing will be relatively slight. Much less than a typical oil finish. The wood will likely darken before the lacquer does. Most cabinet work and a lot of furniture is finished with lacquer. Musical instruments, too.

I use a lot of spray lacquer on my turned pieces. I use the stuff in spray cans, but shot from a gun is also fine. You'll probably need to thin the stuff you have. I'll let someone with more experience shooting lacquer offer advice on how much to thin it.