Dont waste that space !!!!!!

Rob Keeble

Finewoodworking just released a blog page with a bunch of shop tours on it.

One aspect that i find seldom comes up is use of space above your head, yet a great experienced woodworker Chris Gochnour is the first pro i have come across that mentions this point.

During my shop design a good friend of mine that is an architect by trade came up with a great idea. Nothing new but it was huge value to me.

Originally i wanted a Gambrel roof. Heck i did not come to North America not to have a barn.:rofl: Convinced LOML and so this is how it was to be.

Reason being in a Gambrel roof there is loads of space between the trusses that makes for good storage. I had in mind to store my future canoe there in winter like a farmer in the old days would store hay in the loft.

But municipal height restrictions would not permit.

I also wanted a radiant heater and wanted it in the center of the shop.

Yeah lots of wants but thats what a dream shop is about. Why build it if you dont get the things you want.

So my friend thought about this and one night when we were talking it over he came up with Scissors Truss. Here is a side view of the construction.

At first glance it dont look like much from this drawing but here are actual pictures of my ceiling before closure.
attachment.php

I wish i had realized then the value cause i would have taken a better pic, but you can see the space i get from the 9 ft heigh walls to the center.

Now look what i managed to hang there
attachment.php

This is a frame out of the storage platform for my "future":D canoe.

I worried how i would get it up there and he said the same way you would if you had a barn.

So look what we came up with
attachment.php

This is an old pic but you can see the external hatch above the entry door.