Neat Bicycle Video

Pretty cool!

My father was stationed in (West)Germany from 1978-81. (I graduated from Bitburg American High School in 1980 before coming to Utah for college.) Anyway, our youth group's "super activity" for the summer of 1979 was an 8-day cycling/camping trip around Holland. Lotta neat memories.... (The next summer we did a 10-day trip in SE England!)

We had car washes and bake sales to earn money, and placed a group order for Peugeot touring 10-speeds. With the amount of labor I put in, I only had to pay $36 cash for my bike. I still have it; I need to break it out of storage and start losing weight myself.... :(

Heh. A similar thing happened here. (You have to know that the title of the video segment is "Cycling in the Netherlands in the 1950s".)

My wife, from over my shoulder, said, "Why are you watching that?"

"Because I've been 'cycling in the Netherlands.'"

"In the 1950s?"

:dunno:

Amazing. Watching it, I couldn't help thinking: just about every one of those people riding survived the great depression, the occupation, and the war.

Kinda gives one hope! ;)

Thanks,

Bill

Pretty cool. I like that they had to use the bike paths instead of riding in the middle of the street blocking traffic like they do around here.

... or from a cyclists perspective......

Pretty cool. I like that they had to use the bike paths instead of riding in road and getting just about run over and killed because drivers can't wait 10 seconds to go by you when the road has a bit more space :rolleyes:

I drive too, but I tell you, drivers can be some kind of....... I'm trying to think of a word to use that does not conflict with the CoC....... some kind of unkind in forcing their way by you in their 3000 pound death wagon. If they screw up or misjudge, they might get a scratch on their paint or even a..... dent.... :eek: but us guys on the bicycles, well we, if we are very lucky, get to spend months in the hospital, most of us die.....

Share the Road!:wave: