I need a suggestion.......

Thursday 9/22, 2011 I am scheduled for a Rob Cosman class covering tuning hand planes.

It's a 4 hour class. It is being held in the Woodcraft Store in Spokane, WA.

I have a couple cheap planes......I mean really cheap.....I have a Stanley block plane that the throat isn't adjustable....and I have a Master Mechanic smoother.....that we'll just say currently looks like a handplane.

I believe I would like a reasonably priced block plane of reasonable quality that I can purchase at Woodcraft before the class if one is available there. Otherwise I plan on taking my cheapo Stanley block plane.

Give me some ideas .....low angle......regular angle block plane......prices.....

I will never be a Neander but I recently found good reason to use sharp handplanes and chisels.

Thanks!

Thanks!

The newer version Wood River (Woodcraft's house brand) planes are actually pretty nice. Cosman even makes/sponsors the blades & chipbreakers for them.

As for the new version Stanleys, I've not heard anything good about them. Supposedly, they're little better than kits, and require a lot of work to make decent. The couple examples I've had my hands on pretty well bore that out.

ken dont buy any just for that class just go and listen to him he has the planes there for the class.. i have taken the same class and its a good one.. and as for a plane to use the first plane in my book is the 60 1/2 adjustable mouth low angle block.. and they can be gotten of ebay or others reasonably.. i have two and right now wouldnt part with either:) the next plane to have would be the number 4 and again a older model stanley can be ahd for around 25 to 40 dollars..wait till you see the class to get them and then use what you have learned on them..

I agree with Larry, Ken. If the instructor has planes you can use there then go with them. Pick yourself up some nice older Stanley's on ebay. To Larry's list I would add a good 5-1/2 and possibly a 7.