Wall question

Allen Grimes

Hey guys, Im making a wall with a door for a client, and I was just wondering if anybody had any suggestions on how to attach the wall to the other walls.

The other walls are concrete and this wall will be made with 1.5 x 4s covered with ply. Part will be varnished part will be painted. I have a picture of the design somewhere if anybody needs to see it.

I've never done a project like this before so I am not exactly sure if my plan of contruction is the best that it could be.

I will take some more design pics if needed, but for now, Im just concerned with the wall to wall connection.

Sorry, if I am not making perfect sense, I had a looong looong week.

allen, a wall should be attached top and bottom as well as on the side. for the lumber to masonry connection there`s quite a few options depending on your circumstances.....hilti or ramset powerded actuated nailers work well just be sure to use washered pins and the correct load.....readhead type anchors are another option......so are lead drive-ins and tapcons..tod

Do those nailers that you are talking about go through the wood and into the concrete or do I have to place the anchors first and make corresponding holes in the wood?

I'm not very familiar with those tools.

On a side note, would this technique be usable with the installation of kitchen cabinets as well?

hilti and ramset powder actuated nailers will shoot nails into concrete/steel/ect........i wouldn`t use them for affixing kitchen cabinets though unless the cabinets where built with the intention of shooting pins through the nailing strip........if you`re dealing with block then they`re not an option.

Hmm, well I forgot to ask my client if her walls are brick or block.

If it is block then I have to use the dowel and screw technique, right? Are there any other options for block that I'm not aware of?

Well either way, I think I know what Im going to do now.

Thanks Tod